AFC Champions League (or Asian Champions League)

AFC Champions League

Preliminary rounds don’t get underway until February 2019, but I wanted to start putting some information out there about it rather than waiting until right before kick off. 24 of the 32 teams who will play in the group stages are already confirmed and allocated between groups A-H. The winner and runner-up of each of the 8 groups will advance to the knockout round/round of 16. From that point on, the contest is a single-elimination bracket.

AFC Championship League Intro/Background:

A total of 51 teams qualify for competition in the tournament, from the 46 AFC member nations (excluding Northern Mariana Islands, who are only an associate member).

So far, the following teams have been selected to compete, separated by country (bold and underlined indicates group stage entrants, bolded teams enter in the playoff round, italicized enter in the 2nd Preliminary round, normal text indicates entrance to 1st Preliminary round):

West Region Teams (Groups A-D):

  • UAE: Al-Ain, Al-Wahda, Al-Wasl, Al-Nasr
  • Saudi Arabia: Al-Hilal, Al-Ittihad, Al-Ahli, Al Nassr
  • Qatar: Al-Duhail, Al-Sadd, Al-Rayyan, Al-Gharafa
  • Iran: Persepolis, EsteghalZob Ahan, Saipa
  • Uzbekistan: Lokomotiv TashkentAGMK, Pakhtakor
  • Iraq: Al-Zawraa, Al-Quwa Al-Jawiya,
  • Tajikistan: Istiklol
  • India: Minerva Punjab
  • Jordan: Al-Wehdat
  • Kuwait: Al-Kuwait

East Region Teams (Groups E-H):

  • South Korea: Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors, Daegu FC, Gyeongnam FC, Ulsan Hyundai
  • Japan: Kawasaki Frontale, Urawa Red Diamonds, Sanfrecce Hiroshima, Kashima Antlers, 
  • China: Shangai SIPG, Beijing Guoan, Guangzhou Evergrande, Shandong Luneng
  • Australia: Sydney FC, Melbourne Victory, Newcastle Jets
  • Thailand: Buriram UnitedChiangrai United, Bangkok United, 
  • Malaysia: Johor Darul Ta’zimPerak
  • Hong Kong: Kitchee
  • Vietnam: Ha Noi
  • Philippines: Ceres-Negros
  • Singapore: Home United
  • Indonesia: Persija Jakarta
  • Myanmar: Yangon United

The following games are confirmed (more to be added):

February 5, 2019 (Preliminary Round 1):

  • Al-Wehdat vs. Kuwait SC
  • Ceres-Negros FC vs. Yangon United
  • Home United vs. Persija Jakarta

February 12, 2019 (Preliminary Round 2):

West Region:

  • AGMK vs. FC Istiklol
  • Saipa vs. Minerva Punjab
  • Pakhtakor Tashkent vs. Al Quwa Al Jawiya
  • Zob Ahan vs. (Winner of Al-Wehdat/Al-Kuwait)

East Region:

  • Perak vs. Kitchee
  • Bangkok United vs. Ha Noi TT
  • Chiangrai United vs. (Winner of Ceres-Negros/Yangon United)
  • Newcastle Jets vs. (Winner of Home United/Persija Jakarta)

February 19, 2019 (Play-off Round):

West Region:

  • Al-Nasr vs. (Winner of Pakhtakor/Al-Quwa Al-Jawiya)
  • Al-Nassr vs. (Winner of AGMK/Istiklol)
  • Al-Rayyan vs. (Winner of Saipa/Minerva Punjab)
  • Al-Gharafa vs. (Winner of Zob Ahan/TBD, preliminary round 2)

East Region:

  • Ulsan Hyundai vs. (Winner of Perak/Kitchee)
  • Shandong Luneng vs. (Winner of Bangkok United/Ha Noi)
  • Sanfrecce vs. (Winner of Chiangrai/TBD)
  • Kashima Antlers vs. (Winner of Newcastle Jets/TBD)

AFC Championship Group Stages

Group A:

  1. Al-Wasl
  2. Al-Zawraa
  3. Winner Play-off West #4
  4. Winner Play-off West #2

Group B:

  1. Al-Ittihad
  2. Al-Wahda
  3. Lokomotiv Tashkent
  4. Winner Play-off West #3

Group C:

  1. Al-Duhail
  2. Al-Hilal
  3. Al-Ain
  4. Esteghlal

Group D:

  1. Persepolis
  2. Al-Sadd
  3. Al-Ahli
  4. Winner Play-off West #1

Group E:

  1. Gyeongnam FC
  2. Johor Darul Ta’zim
  3. Winner Play-off East #4
  4. Winner Play-off East #2

Group F:

  1. Guangzhou Evergrande
  2. Daegu FC
  3. Melbourne Victory
  4. Winner Play-off East #3

Group G:

  1. Urawa Red Diamonds
  2. Beijing Guoan
  3. Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors
  4. Buriram United

Group H:

  1. Sydney FC
  2. Kawasaki Frontale
  3. Shanghai SIPG
  4. Winner Play-off West #2

Last Update: December 13, 2018

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *