English Premier League Owners (EPL Owners)

Ever wondered who the English Premier  League Owners (EPL owners) are?

Arsenal: Arsenal is technically owned by Arsenal Holdings, PLC. Although, as of August 2018, Arsenal Holdings is owned by Stan Kroenke’s holdings company, Kroenke Sports and Entertainment, who acquired the remaining stake for £550M from the Russian part-owner.

AFC Bournemouth: Maxim Demin is the majority owner of A.F.C. Bournemouth, with Eddie Mitchell and in 2015 a 25% stake was sold to Peak 6 Investments. Under Demin’s ownership, the club have made substantial investments into club facilities and players.

Brighton & Hove Albion: Tony Bloom (the professional poker player) is the majority owner of Brighton & Hove Albion after providing £80M in interest-free loans. He acquired a 75% ownership stake after converting £18M in loans to equity in the club.

Burnley: Burnley is a British owned club that is ~94% owned by the board. Chairman of the Board Mike Garlick owns 49.24%. Every director is local born, a Clarets supporter and do not get paid.

Cardiff City: Vincent Tan has followed Tony Bloom’s book in offering interest-free loans and then converting them for equity. They’ve been a very free spending side under his ownership. From 2015-2018 he converted £66.4M into equity into the club.

Chelsea: Since June 2003, Chelsea is Roman Abramovich’s sole owner in a deal expected to be valued about £140M. Jose Mourinho has two stints with the club and had his most successful stint after the Abramovich takeover.

Crystal Palace: Crystal Palace is partly owned Steve Parish and American duo Josh Harris and David Blitzer (who are owners of the NHL’s New Jersey Devils and the Philadelphia 76ers). The remainder of the club is held by Palace-related holdings companies.

Everton: Everton is mostly (~70%) by Farhad Moshiri who has increased his stake in the club. He began with an initial acquisition of 49.9% believed to have come at a cost of roughly £87.3M.

Fulham: Fulham is owned by Shahid Khan who also owns the NFL’s Jacksonville Jaguars. The total cost in 2013 was expected to be about £200M.

Huddersfield Town: Dean Hoyle began his acquisition of Huddersfield in 2008 when he acquired a 30% share of ownership and a seat on the board. Since 2009, he added £37.2M in funding which was eventually converted to a 70% share.

Leicester City: The Foxes were owned by Vichai Srivaddhanaprabha, and the Premier League was shocked by his death October 27th of 2018 in a helicopter crash. Presumptively the club will be owned by his son, Aiyawatt Srivaddhanaprabha, from here on out.

Liverpool: Liverpool is owned by Fenway Sports Group who was formed when John Henry joined other investors to bid for the Red Sox. They acquired the team for $495M in 2010.

Manchester City: City is owned by a conglomerate of ADUG (86.21%) and CITIC (13.79%). Initially the club was acquired by Abu Dhabi United Group (ADUG) by £210M.

Manchester United: Manchester United is majority-owned by the Glazer family and is floated on the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE). The acquisition was made for £790M in 2005.

Newcastle United: Mike Ashley took ownership of the club after acquiring more than 70% of the club’s shares giving the club valuation of about £131M.

Southampton: Long-time owner Katharina Liebherr sold an 80% stake in the club to Jisheng Gao in a deal valued at £210M.

Tottenham Hotspur: Tottenham are controlled by Daniel Levy after ENIC (Holding Company also owned by Levy) bought a 29.8% stake in the club for £22M in December 2000. Although they would eventually acquire the club in its entirety and move it into private ownership.

Watford: Watford are owned by Gino Pozzo who’s father owns Udinese (Italy). The team was acquired in 2012 by the Pozzo family from Laurence Bassini only 15 months after his own acquisition after he rescued the club from finance issues.

West Ham United: West Ham is controlled by David Sullivan (51%), and David Gold (35%) whose ownership has grown from the initial 50% they acquired together at roughly £52M. In recent times American businessman Tripp Smith acquired a 10% stake.

Wolverhampton Wanderers: Fosun International purchased Wolves in 2016 for £45M. Jeff Shi is acting in the role of Executive Chairman for Wolves.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *