Columbus Crew

Roster |History | Honors | Schedule


Check out the Columbus Crew Roster here!


Columbus Crew SC is another of the ten clubs that started the MLS. Officially the club was formed in 1994, although they didn’t begin playing until 1996 when the league kicked off. The SC wasn’t added until 2014 when the club revealed a new logo with the addition of SC (for soccer club) included. The first coach in club history was Timo Liekoski who spent time previously as US Men’s National Team coach. The first selection for Columbus was Brian McBride with the first overall pick in 1996. Columbus did not get off to a good start with only six wins in the first 22 games, leading to Liekoski being dismissed. Tom Fitzgerald was appointed and after failing to win only one of the remaining games; they qualified for the playoffs.

The next two seasons would be much the same with the Crew winning 15 of the 32 games in 1997 and 1998. Although they would make the playoffs each time, they were defeated by D.C. United each time. The 1999 season would begin with the Crew opening their new, soccer-specific stadium (the first in the US). Previously, the Crew had played at Ohio Stadium, and they would again make the playoffs. They missed them the following season, and the club would experience some difficult seasons with lots of transitions in both staff and players. Columbus would taste it’s first MLS Cup in 2008 under coach Sigi Schmidt who would leave at the end of the season to coach the Seattle Sounders.



  • Winners (1): 2008

Supporters Shield

  • Winners (3): 2004, 2008, 2009

U.S. Open Cup (1): 2002

Make sure to check out information for all the other MLS Teams or other Soccer content!