FC Dallas

Roster |History | Honors | Schedule


Check out the FC Dallas roster here!


FC Dallas was one of the 10 original founders of the MLS, although they did so under the name Dallas burn (founded in 1995) and was under that name until 2004 when it rebranded itself FC Dallas. This franchise was awarded the same day as the ones to Kansas City and Colorado. The team played their first game against the San Jose Clash at the Cotton Bowl in Dallas, Texas winning in a shootout. Jason Kreis would open his MLS account a few days later. The first season for the Burn would end with a 2nd-place finish in the Western Conference and a subsequent loss to the Kansas City Wizards. After 5 years of making the playoffs but failing to advance, Dave Dir was let go from the inaugural head coaching job.

After Dir, Mike Jeffries was appointed to the head coach position, who had been very successful with the Chicago Fire in the prior years. While the season was cut short (due to the September 11th attacks), the Burn lost to the Fire in the quarterfinals. Jeffries only remained at the helm of the team until mid-September of 2003 after which he was fired due to the teams poor performance and his former-assistant, Colin Clarke, took the reigns on an interim basis. Prior to the season, the interim tag was removed and he was announced as the new manager and along with changing them team’s name to their current name, FC Dallas, the owner, Lamar Hunt, announced that a soccer-specific stadium was being built in Frisco for the team’s 2005 campaign. Clarke would remain manager until the 2006 season where despite making the playoffs, the team again failed to advance.

The 2008 season the first homegrown player developed by the academy, Bryan Leyva. The managerial shuffles continued for FC Dallas as they sought to gain advancement in the playoffs. Their stadium has been known as both Pizza Hut Park (until 2012) and then known as Toyota Stadium.



  • Runners-up: 2010

Supporters’ Shield

  • Winners: 2016
  • Runners-up (2): 2006, 2015

U.S. Open Cup

  • Winners (2): 1997, 2016
  • Runners-up (2): 2005, 2007

Western Conference

  • Winners (Playoffs): 2010
  • Winners (Regular Season) (3): 2006, 2015, 2016

Make sure to check out information for all the other MLS Teams or other Soccer content!