Houston Dynamo

Roster |History | Honors | Schedule


Check out the Houston Dynamo Roster here!


The Houston Dynamo are technically a relocation of the San Jose Earthquakes team although the league withheld the Earthquakes brand for an eventual “expansion” team there. The club was founded mid-December of 2005 preparing to play (with most of the San Jose Earthquake’s squad) in the 2006 season. The Dynamo were dominant in their first two seasons in the MLS with head coach Dominic Kinnear, with both of those years (2006, 2007) ending in MLS Cup Victories. However, they have not won an MLS Cup again, despite coming close on two occasions (2011, 2012).

Towards the end of Kinnear’s nine years with the club, performance began to drop and Kinnear resigned in 2014 as the club slumped towards an eventual eighth-place finish in the division. Kinnear was replaced by Owen Coyle, but the results on the field did not improve and less than a year later the club and Coyle parted ways. Wade Barrett managed (as interim coach) the club for the remainder of the season but finished last in the conference and was replaced at the end of the season by Wilmer Cabrera (who remains in charge of the club).

With Cabrera in charge of the club, they ended a three-season postseason drought although they would lose in the Conference Finals. Things were again looking up for the Dynamo however as the next season brought their first trophy since Dominic Kinnear’s reign. Despite winning the U.S. Open Cup, the team still finished in a disappointing ninth-place and did not take part in the playoffs.



  • Winners (2): 2006, 2007
  • Runners Up (2): 2011, 2012

Supporter’s Shield

  • Winners (1): 2008

U.S. Open Cup

  • Winners (1): 2018

Make sure to check out information for all the other MLS Teams or other Soccer content!