Seattle Sounders FC

Roster |History | Honors | Schedule


Check out the Seattle Sounders FC Roster here!


Seattle Sounders FC was founded in 2007 as an expansion club beginning play in 2009. They share the same name as the NASL team that came before them. The club’s inaugural coach was Sigi Schmidt who remained with the club for eight years. The only other coach in club history is Brian Schmetzer. The expansion club sold out all 22,000 season tickets in their initial season. They became the second expansion club to win the U.S. Open Cup in their inaugural season (Chicago Fire were first). Each of Seattle’s home matches during their inaugural season were sell outs (including playoffs and U.S. Open Cup games). In 2013 the club would sign DeAndre Yeldin as a homegrown player, although he would not stay in the MLS long. Sounders became the first club in more than four decades to win back to back to back U.S. Open Cups. The club has made the playoffs in each of their years of existence and made at least the Conference Semifinals. Despite the club’s successes they would not win an MLS Cup until 2016 and would nearly repeat immediately (finished as runners up).



  • Winners (1): 2016
  • Runners Up (1): 2017

Supporter’s Shield

  • Winners (1): 2014

U.S. Open Cup

  • Winners (4): 2009, 2010, 2011, 2014
  • Runners Up (1): 2012

Make sure to check out information for all the other MLS Teams or other Soccer content!